Prof. Dr. Dr. W. H. Oertel | honorary positions

Honorary positions (selection)

2015 - Member of the "Scientific Panel for Health (SPH)" of the European Commission, Directorate General XII for Research and Innovation
2014 - Chairperson - "European Affairs Subcommittee" of the European Academy of Neurology (EASC-EAN)
2010 - 2016 Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Novartis Foundation Germany
2013 - 2015
President International REM Sleep Behaviour Disorder Study Group (IRBDSG)
2011 - 2012 President - German Neurological Society; (2013 - 2014 - past president, 2009 - 2010 vice president)
2007 - 2011
President - German Parkinson Society (DPG); (2011 - 2013 past president, 2004 - 2007 Vice President)
2007 - 2009 Chairman: International Movement Disorders Society – European Section (2005 - 2006 Vice Chairman)
2003 -
Speaker of the German Parkinson Study Group (GPS) - Network for clinical multicenter studies: „Parkinson Syndromes“
2003 - 2008 Member of the board: GeneMove
2003 - 2014 Chair: German Guideline Committee for diagnosis and therapy of Parkinson’s disease
2003 - 2004 Treasurer: Movement Disorders Society
(2001 - 2002 elect)
2002 - 2008
Member of the board: Telematic platform for medical research networks (TMF e.V.)
2001 - 2005 Speaker EuroPa – European network for research, diagnosis and therapy of Parkinson’s disease
1999 -
Speaker of the "Competence Network Parkinson"
1998 -
Mentor ot the German Student Merit Foundation, at the Philipps University of Marburg
1998 - 2005
Advisor: German Huntington Association
1991 -
Advisor: German "Restless Legs Syndrome" Society
1991 -
Advisor: German Wilson Society
1987 - 2010
Scientific Advisory Board: German Parkinson-Vereinigung e.V. (Patient advocacy group)
2013 Hertie-Senior Research Professorship
2013 Wilhelm-von-Humboldt Medal of the German Parkinson Society (DPG)
2009 Honorary Doctor - 1. Medical Academy Moskow
2004 Dingebaur-Price for Parkinson Research of the German Neurological Society – together with Prof. G. Deuschl, Kiel, Germany
1987 - 1990 Heisenberg-professorship (carrier award) of the "Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft": Clinical and basic studies in basal ganglia diseases"
1986 "Parkinson-Frosst-Preis" of the German Neurological Society
1971 - 1978 scholarship holder of the "German Student Merit Foundation (Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes)"
Memberships (selection)
  American Academy of Neurology (AAN)
  Working group of neurological intensive medicine (ANIM)
  German Society of Clinical Neurophysiology
  German Society of Neurogenetics
  German Society of Neurology (DGN)
  German Society of Sleep Medicine (DGSM)
  German Parkinson Society (DPG)
  European Academy of Neurology (EAN)
  European Sleep Research Society (ESRS)
  Federation of European Neuroscientific Societies (FENS)
  "Hirnliga" for research, detection and treatment of mental disorders
  International Basal Ganglia Society
  International Brain Research Organisation (IBRO)
  International REM Sleep Behavior Disorder Study Group (IRBDSG)
  New York Academy of Science (NYAS)
  Society for Neuroscience Germany
  Society for Neuroscience (USA)
  The Movement Disorder Society (MDS)
  World Association of Sleep Medicine (WASM)